This article on cannabis rules for out of state buyers is not legal advice. The out of state medical cannabis laws list is not exhaustive. When finding out if out of state visitors can buy cannabis or if non-residents can buy cannabis, please make sure to check state and local laws. The information was accurate at the time of publishing.
Countless polls and surveys have revealed the majority of Americans are in favor of cannabis legalization, however, the laws against both medical and recreational remain in ten states: Alabama, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, North Carolina, Tennessee and Wyoming. With no clear path to legalization, residents interested in consuming marijuana must be willing to travel, as well as have an understanding of cannabis rules for out of state buyers. It is essential to note laws change on a regular basis; research current rules before visiting another state for cannabis purchases.
Generally, states with legalized recreational use allow out-of-state visitors to buy. In states with medical programs, some will sell to out-of-state patients with medical marijuana cards. Below is a listing of each state’s laws regarding non-residents and cannabis. States without established rules and/or dispensaries are not included. Out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized and recreational cannabis is illegal in Georgia, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. Learn more about if out of state and non-resident visitors can buy cannabis.
Out of State Cannabis Laws by State
Alaska: out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized. Recreational cannabis of up to 1 ounce is allowed.
Arizona: must have an out-of-state medical cannabis card and live outside of Arizona, or have only lived in Arizona for fewer than 30 days. Qualifying patients must also be licensed in their home state with a condition which meets Arizona’s medical card criteria, including Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Recreational cannabis of up to 2.5 ounces can be purchased.
Arkansas: after completion of a visiting patient form and with proof of out-of-state medical marijuana registration, as well as an out-of-state medical recommendation and card, medical marijuana can be purchased. A $50 application fee is also required.
California: recreational and medical cannabis are available for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification. Non-resident adults are allowed to possess 1 ounce.
Hawaii: out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized, but out-of-state residents are allowed to apply to the state’s program.
Illinois: recreational cannabis is legalized. Non-residents age 21 and older can have 15 grams of cannabis, 250 mg of infusions and 2.5 grams of concentrate.
Maine: out of state medical cannabis patients from certain states can purchase at any of Maine’s medical dispensaries with proper identification. Find the current list of approved states here.
Massachusetts: recreational and medical cannabis are available for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification.
Michigan: recreational and medical cannabis are available for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification.
Montana: medical card holders from out-of-state may purchase and consume marijuana while visiting the state.
Nevada: recreational and medical cannabis are available for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification.
New Hampshire: medical marijuana patients from out of state must have the same qualifying medical conditions listed in New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program, and are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis, but are not permitted to purchase from local dispensaries.
New Jersey: recognizes all other states’ medical marijuana cards for up to six months while visiting. Out-of-state medical marijuana patients may also be able to get certified by a New Jersey doctor.
Oklahoma: medical marijuana patients from out-of-state are able to purchase from dispensaries after applying for a temporary license, which costs $100, takes about 2 weeks to process and is valid for 30 days with the option to renew.
Oregon: out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized, however, recreational cannabis is allowed for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification.
Rhode Island: visiting patients may have access to dispensaries with their physical medical marijuana card and a government-issued ID card from the same state.
Utah: qualifying conditions matching those of the state are required. Those qualifying conditions include Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).
Vermont: out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized, however, recreational cannabis is allowed for anyone 21 or older with a valid government-issued identification.
Washington: cannabis rules for out of state buyers allow recreational cannabis for anyone 21 or older with valid government-issued identification.
Washington D.C.: accepts visitor medical marijuana cards from these states only. Visitors from other states may bring their medicine as long as it is kept at minimum on your person. Recreational sales are illegal.
Tourists from the United States and elsewhere are legally allowed to purchase cannabis in Canada. Those who are at least 19 years of age can safely buy up to 30 grams and consume it in a private residence, in any part of the country. It is important to note, however, cannabis cannot be transported from Canada to anywhere in the United States, including to states where cannabis is legal.
Can out of state visitors and non-residents buy cannabis? In most cases, yes! More valuable information regarding purchasing out of state medical cannabis and visitor marijuana can be found through CannaCon. Explore the industry via the nation’s leading business-to-business cannabis conference today!